Vlog? What’s That

Vlogging is like blogging, but using recorded video instead of text as the means of communication. Basically, you can think of Vlog being a shortening of video-logging; though I’m not sure what blogging is a shortening of, I find the term journaling to be sufficient for most purposes – even in our media-rich Internet – and vlournaling just would take too much work to replace the already coined word, “vlog”.

What Does This Have To Do With You?

Well, I’m considering starting up a daily vlog, even if I can’t get to the Internet everday, I can upload the videos to my YouTube channel. I imagine I could upload them to WordPress, but with me being out of work with a broken arm and being treated for cancer, and my wife taking personal leave to help take care of me, I just don’t have the money and I figure, what’s the point? The most I want for one of my WordPress accounts is a storage upgrade and domain name (that would be for Audio Verse of the Day (which I’m still bringing back)). Getting all the extras needed for vlogging entirely within WordPress is just too expensive for me.

When Do You Start?

Today, if I can help it. I am trying to find something better to use on Ubuntu then Cheese Web Cam Booth. If you have any suggestions, hit me up on Twitter or Facebook I get SMS updates on my cell so it’s the quickest way until I get Internet access at home (anyone willing to donate a year of Internet (local utility deals in terms no shorter than that, I think), I’d be glad to accept but it’s not a necessasity and I’m not asking for it).

Right now the biggest thing I need, as I stated earlier, is something better than Cheese Web Cam Booth under Ubuntu or something Windows-based that will run under WINE. I will use Cheese, but it’s quality isn’t the greatest (though I think it’s a combination of hardware/software).

Anyway, that’s the update for today!

