We Hate To Lose

New Year

It is now 4 days into the New Year and there have been a lot of changes already; some I’m not happy with, but most of those are things I cannot change. What is done is done and only God Himself could change it and until that happens, it’s time to move on and experience the joys of a new relationship though if someone asked me if I’d do anything different last year, I think the only thing I would do different is not try to fix things in my flesh. I do not have the power to change one hair on my head, to make myself taller or shorter, and I certainly don’t have the power to change the hearts of others (which is a good thing, I’d possibly be in trouble).

No one likes to lose anything, be it some item we treasure for sentimental reasons or a relationship that just kind of went to pieces. I’m like everyone else in that regard. I hate to lose, and while I feel as if I’ve lost something precious, I have also gained something of much more value. I get the feeling this really could be the one chance I get to do things right by God in this area.

New Beginnings

God has brought me into a wonderful, loving relationship with a woman I never thought of even asking out before. Just goes to show how God is always, always thinking in such radically different ways than we are. I’m blessed and thankful for the relationship I’m in and I certainly wouldn’t trade her for any one else. After all, she has God’s endorsement.

As I look forward into this new year, I see a great many things happening. My first new computer (a laptop) ever and a digital multimeter for school/work. Getting my finances straight with God’s guidance and blessing. Maybe even getting engaged but who knows with that except for God; I certainly don’t want to jump out in front of Him. I figure when His time for that arrives, I will have everything I need.

God has blessed me with being a member of not just His universal church (all the saints), but with a wonderful church family in my local church. As such I am a Child of God, a King’s Kid and because of such I am constantly blessed beyond any human rationale. I look forward to drawing closer to Him in the coming year and serving Him in more ways than I already do.

The Byrds made a song in the 60s called “Turn Turn Turn (To Everything There Is A Season)”, I wonder though just how many people know the scripture reference it makes. It actually covers one of my favorite Old Testament verses, Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 which starts out:

To everything there is a season,
A time for every purpose under heaven.

Now they get some of the scripture in a different order than what’s in the NKJV but they otherwise do an excellent job of covering that scripture and really hitting the key verses to reinforce that to everything that happens, there is a purpose and there is a season. Thank God for that, too.

Here’s to a blessed new year in 2011 and to the world crying out with one voice and of one accord, “Praise to God in the highest, and peace to His people on earth!”

