Believing For His Will To Be Done

When was the last time you completely gave up any idea of trying to control the outcome? I bet it’s been a while. While He knows how hard it is for us to give up any level of control, He still expects us to do so, for there is no other way for Him to completely reveal His will in your life and to receive all due glory and praise. He knows we aren’t perfect, that’s why He will move in big and small ways in our life. While He can do the really big things (things so big we cannot even begin to comprehend, like creating the whole universe in 6 days type of big), it’s in the really small things that I believe He gets the most glory because it shows a level of knowledge, intimacy and love on His part that no one else can ever show. Don’t just thank God for the big huge things He’s doing in your life, but also give him glory and praise for the small things that we don’t ever give a second thought about.

Sure, God has given me a loving church family, great friends, wonderful parents and sister and even a job; but he’s also seen fit to let me wake up day after day for almost 32 years. He’s given me relatively clean air to breathe, wonderful pets, food, water, clothes and memories of people, places and things that have left an indelible mark upon me. That have shaped me in small ways.

I’ll never forget my second real crush, Lisa Stanger. I’ll never forget my first attempts at dating with Cindy Watts (she says we weren’t dating, and I understand now it was more courtship than dating). I’ll never forget people like Toby Hester and Shawn Parker. I’ll never forget Kimbra Wilder or Darin Gish. I’ll never forget Freddie Birdwell. I’ll never forget Camp Horizon or the wonderful activity they are engaged in. These people and places and more, I will never forget. They left beautiful, positive notes in my life. I hope I was even half as memorable to them as they were to me.

Day 14

The day ended better than I had any right to have. God works like that. He gives us what we don’t deserve because we are faithful to Him, even if our faith is just the size of a mustard seed. He can work with that! I’m still nervous today about what happened Friday night, but it’s in God’s hands now. I’d like to pledge to do no more end runs around Him, but that’s asking more of me than I can realistically give. I’m only human and there are bound to be things I still try and control. I only pray that I’m just as convicted then as I have been previously. I spent a good deal of time in the word, though I haven’t studied Ephesians much more. I need to. I believe God is still trying to show me everything Paul had to say there and give me a greater understanding of it all.

Day 15

Today is starting out really good. I’m being prepared for the consequences today as well as for a wonderful word from pastor. May God fully open my heart and mind and soul to His word today. I need to hear it, I need to listen to it, and I need to apply/live it.

I wanted to write and tell you
How nice you looked today
I wanted to write and tell you
That I get lost in your eyes everyday
I wanted to write and tell you
But my hand was staid

I wanted to call and tell you
How much you mean to me
I wanted to call and tell you
Just how sweet you can be
I wanted to call and tell you
But fear overtook me

Walking in God’s will
Is where I want to be
Your hand in mine
Just you and me

I wanted to walk up and tell you
Just how beautiful you really are
I wanted to walk up and tell you
That I wanted to give you my heart
I wanted to walk up and tell you
But I never made it that far

Your friendship means everything
But your love would be grand
Your friendship means everything
So I hide my own hand
Your friendship means everything
I want that more than I can stand

Walking in God’s will
Just you and me

